Vaccines are like seatbelts

From a discussion some time ago on MDC:

vaccines are like seat belts if seat belts were made of arsenic that *may* or *may not* seep into your skin and kill you.

vaccines are like seat belts if seat belts sometimes randomly caused your car to drive into oncoming traffic. But this wouldn’t be called a car accident because everyone knows seat belts CAN’T cause car accidents.

vaccines are like seat belts if seat belts had not one, but two government organizations that exist specifically to “market” and “recommend” their use.

vaccines are like seat belts if not wearing a seat belt and getting in a small fender bender caused ER staff to “assume” you have a worst case scenario and insisting on a spinal tap, MRI, tracheotomy, and a mandatory stay in the ICU.

vaccines are like seat belts if not wearing one caused people to accuse you of causing other people’s cars to lose control and thus killing innocent children.

This was posted by PaigeC. I am posting here with her permission.

When we were discussing vaccination with FIL, this was a comparison made to me. I have been meaning to work out just how they are the same and how they are different. I think that people who advocate vaccines think that vaccines keep you safe much the same way a seat belt would keep you safe. However, the analogy of car acidents and vaccine preventable diseases does not hold up, and the regulations around seat belts and vaccines are different.

I do not see most of the VPD as being a car crash. I see life as being risky and driving as being risky. I do not think VPD need to be risky if I have access to clean water, fresh food, clean but not sterile environment and I manage fever without drugs and ensure my family has outside active time. I guess I see the above as my ‘seat belt’ and would be happier if some of the risk in vaccination were being spoken about more openly.

At the moment I am trying to figure out why Hib capsule can trigger an immune response when it essentially has nothing of the bacteria in it. Basically the capsule is conjugated with tetanus toxoid, but I do not understand yet how this triggers the humoral immune system. It has been explained to me that the capsule is like an envelope is to a letter or a discarded snake skin is to a snake…. hopefully I will be able to clear this up for myself and make sense of it here on this blog.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

